DUI & DWI
Getting a DUI or DWI charge in Maryland can be a serious offense. Call Timothy A. Cook, DUI/DWI Attorney today for legal consultation.
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) And Driving While Inpaired (DWI) In Harford County, Cecil County or Baltimore County
Getting a DUI or DWI charge in Maryland can be a serious offense. Call Timothy A Cook, DUI/DWI Attorney today for legal consultation. The maximum penalties carry jail time and the MVA will assess substantial points to your driving record which may result in suspension or revocation of your license. If you are charged with Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol or Driving While Impaired by Alcohol there are a number of things you need to know and do immediately after receiving the charges.
What You Need To Know
I’m not going to give you a treatise on Maryland DUI/DWI law. That’s not why you clicked on my page. There are many sites that can give you the technical aspects of the laws. What you need to know right away is below:
Contact Timothy A. Cook, DUI Attorney Immediately
Meet With An Attorney To Discuss The Facts Of Your Case
Determine Whether To Move The Case
Put You In The Best Position
DUI Charges in Maryland
A DUI ( Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol) is considered a serious traffic offense in Maryland. It is a misdemeanor but does carry a maximum penalty of one year in jail and a fine of $ 1,000 for a first time offense. For second or subsequent offenses the penalties are increased. If your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is at or above 0.08% or higher it is a DUI.
Your second offense of DUI could mean your license being revoked and could require an ignition interlock device. You could also face a fine of $2,000, 12 points added to your MVA record, imprisonment for up to two years and mandatory participation in an alcohol abuse program .
Don’t chance going to court alone or with an inexperienced DUI attorney. Contact Timothy A. Cook, DUI/DWI Attorney today. I have been representing people charged with DUI/DWI since 1988. I know how to handle these cases and what judges to avoid. Some lawyers think these cases are easy. They are not ! There is a lot of strategy that needs to be planned and options to be considered before court. Let me help you. I don’t charge for consultations and the sooner you call after getting charged the more I can help you.
DWI Charges in Maryland
DWI ( Driving While Impaired by Alcohol ) is the lesser of the alcohol driving offenses. You can be charged with a DWI if your BAC is at least 0.07% or lower. Often the State will not have breath test evidence or insufficient evidence to prove the DUI and a DWI will be prosecuted instead.
If it’s your first DWI offense, the maximum penalties are a 60 day jail sentence, $500 fine, and eight points on your license. If you have a prior conviction for a DWI the penalties are enhanced to imprisonment of up to one year, a fine of $500 and a license suspension of up to 12 months. DWI penalties are increased if a minor is in the car or if you are facing your third or higher charge.
If your license is revoked due to a DWI or DUI offense in Maryland, you will most likely have to attend an alcohol education program to have your license reinstated at the MVA. I can help you with finding the right program and applying for reinstatement of your license.
Get a Free Consultation
Contact Timothy A. Cook, Attorney at Law, today if facing a DUI or DWI offense in Harford County, Cecil County or Baltimore County. I understand good people sometimes make bad choices. I have extensive experience in representing clients in District and Circuit in Bel Air, Elkton and Towson for DWI and DUI. I can help you get through the court system and the MVA system and get this behind you. Payment plans are available in most cases. We also accept credit and debit cards.